Press Release

ADL Honors L’Oreal Chairman Jean-Paul Agon with 2021 “Courage Against Hate” Award

New York, NY, November 7, 2021 … ADL (the Anti-Defamation League) today honored L’Oreal Chairman Jean-Paul Agon with its Courage Against Hate Award in recognition of his longstanding commitment to advancing diversity, equity and inclusion within the company and to respecting human rights and confronting antisemitism in society.

“Jean-Paul Agon exemplifies corporate responsibility through his relentless effort to dismantle antisemitism and hate on a global level,” said ADL CEO Jonathan A. Greenblatt. “Jean-Paul and L’Oréal understand the importance of education to help reduce bias and hate and have partnered with us on a multi-year initiative to fight antisemitism through education.”

With the expertise of ADL’s Echoes & Reflections program and L’Oréal’s partnership, the new initiative will create direct-to-student digital classroom activities reaching more than 100,000 middle and high school students and creating an engaging way to learn about the lessons of history and the Holocaust that are still relevant today.

ADL established the Courage Against Hate Award to recognize courageous and visionary leaders from the private sector who are dedicated to fighting hate for good, boldly use their personal and professional brands to that end and inspire others to actively work to make the world a better place.

The award was presented at ADL’s annual Never Is Now Summit on Antisemitism and Hate, which is being held virtually this year, at the opening session, where Agon also delivered the keynote address. (full video here). 

In his 15 years at L’Oréal, Agon adapted the company by leading in-depth strategic transformations, notably the digital and e-commerce revolution and the one of corporate responsibility and sustainability. The Ethics Resource Center awarded him the “Pace Leadership in Ethics Award” for L’Oréal’s achievements in the areas of business ethics, diversity, financial transparency, and sustainable development.

Past Courage Against Hate Award recipients include Apple CEO Tim Cook, Chobani CEO and Founder Hamdi Ulukaya and Merck & Co. Executive Chairman Kenneth C. Frazier.

“If there is one thing I have learned during my career, it is that respect and inclusion cannot be decreed from an executive office” Agon said. “I have been blessed to be surrounded by my 85,000 colleagues who share my belief that companies have a responsibility to be a force for good. If we have shown courage against hate, it is thanks to the commitment of each one of them. This is their award.”